# POLICY COMMITTEE MINUTES April 24, 2009 9:00 AM Don Hill Administration Bldg 20 S. Second St., Newark

The meeting was called to order at 9:00 a.m. by Jeff Wherley, Chair.

## ROLL

Attending: Robin Bennett, Patty Bratton, Scott Bryant, Tim Bubb (not present for roll call; see note: for arrival), Luellen Felumlee, Mark Frank, Tony Furgiuele, Jim Hart, Steve Holekamp, Dave Lang, Larry Lloyd, Steve Lonsinger, Paul Martin, Jeff Roberts, Dane Shryock, Jon Myers (designee for Judy Shupe), Tony Vogel, Chad Wilkins, Dan Wing, and Jeff Wherley.

Not attending: Joe Bulzan, Larry Coyle, Bob Diebold, Joe Ebel, Dick Erman, Frank Hirsch, and Lonnie Wood.

#### APPROVAL OF MINUTES\_

Motion was made by Paul Martin to approve the minutes from the April 3, 2009 meeting with one correction. There is a type-o on the time adjourned. Draft minutes say 10:25 a.m. actual time was 12:25 p.m. Jim Hart seconded the motion with the correction. The motion carried without opposition.

### **OLD BUSINESS**

#### PLAN UPDATE

(Note: Tim Bubb arrived 9:06)

1. Finalize Expenditure Budget – Carol presented the committee with a spreadsheet showing the projected expenditures for 2010. Carol explained that some of these costs were based on 2008 numbers but the expenditures were requested/provided before the end of 2008 so final numbers were not available at that time. Since the 2008 numbers have been finalized, the projected 2010 expenditures can now be based on actual 2008 numbers. The spreadsheet had a column reviewing the 2010 expenditures as they were originally projected and a "revised" column which is Carol's recommendation based on the actual 2008 expenditures. Jim Hart made a motion to accept the revised expenditures as presented. Larry Lloyd seconded the motion. Patty Bratton asked if this motion included the addition of a line item in the budget for special waste reduction projects. After further discussion, Jim Hart withdrew his motion. Larry Lloyd seconded the motion. Tony Vogel then made a motion to approve the revised expenditures as presented and to add a line item in the budget for special waste reduction projects. A roll vote was taken. Those voting yes were: Robin Bennett, Patty Bratton, Scott Bryant, Tim Bubb, Luellen Felumlee, Mark Frank, Tony Furgiuele, Jim Hart, Steve Holekamp,

Dave Lang, Larry Lloyd, Steve Lonsinger, Paul Martin, Jeff Roberts, Dane Shryock, Jon Myers, Tony Vogel, Chad Wilkins, and Dan Wing. Those voting no were: none. The motion carried unanimously 19-0.

Discussion then ensued on the inflation factor using for projecting out for the next 14 years. Carol presented the committee with a budget for administrative costs based on inflationary factors as we know them today. Mary Wiard (consultant, Waste Alternatives) said that she recommended using a 5% inflation factor for the recycling programs from 2010-2014; then reducing it to 1% beginning in 2015. Discussion ensued regarding a figure to use beginning in 2015. Jon Myers made a motion to accept the inflationary factor of 5% through 2014 and reducing it to 3% in 2015. Jeff Roberts seconded the motion. A roll vote was taken. Those voting yes were: Robin Bennett, Patty Bratton, Scott Bryant, Tim Bubb, Luellen Felumlee, Mark Frank, Tony Furgiuele, Jim Hart, Steve Holekamp, Dave Lang, Larry Lloyd, Steve Lonsinger, Paul Martin, Jeff Roberts, Dane Shryock, Jon Myers, Tony Vogel, Chad Wilkins, and Dan Wing. Those voting no were: none. The motion carried unanimously 19-0.

2. <u>Select Primary Funding Mechanism</u> – Jeff Wherley stated that Tony Furgiuele would be leaving soon for another obligation and that he knew Tony would like to speak on this topic. Tony stated that he would like to see disposal fees be set to \$2-\$2-\$2 which would be an increase in in-district and out-of-state fees by \$1 and a decrease in out-of-district fees by \$2. He further stated that the district and recycling program managers need to work hard to reduce recycling costs.

(Note: Tony Furgiuele left at 9:35)

Frank Fello (Manager, Suburban Landfill) stated that they are still talking to SWACO (Solid Waste Authority of Columbus) about waiver agreements allowing tonnages to continue going to Suburban, even if flow control is implemented. He stated that SWACO's board is meeting again on May 5<sup>th</sup>.

Paul Martin stated that he agreed that the district needs a "contingency" funding mechanism in the plan. He asked what the landfill operators in the audience thought about our fee structure. Frank Fello (Suburban Landfill) said that if the district stayed with a \$1-\$4-\$1 disposal fee they would be okay. He also said that he would like the committee to consider going to a \$1-\$3-\$1 disposal fee and also institute a generation fee. He further state that if the out-of-state fees are increased he believes that Suburban would lose that waste. Rod Deeds (Manager, Tunnell Hill Landfill) stated that he also liked the \$1-\$3-\$1 disposal fee. Additionally, he advised the committee that 90% of the waste stream coming in to Tunnell Hill is out-of-state waste and that raising that fee to \$4/ton (as mentioned in an email sent out prior to this meeting) would close Tunnell Hill's doors.

3. <u>Set Funding Levels</u> – Motion was made by Jim Hart that the primary funding mechanism to be written into the solid waste plan be a disposal fee of \$1.25/ton for in-district waste, \$3.50/ton for out-of-district waste, and \$1.25/ton for out-of state waste. Jeff Roberts seconded the motion. Much discussion took place regarding different fee levels that could be charged. Additionally, discussion ensued regarding the need to change the current structure (\$1-\$4-\$1) when more than likely, the contingency funding mechanism that is to be discussed next is probably going to have to be put into place shortly thereafter. Jon Myers made a motion to table Jim Hart's motion. A roll vote was taken. Those voting yes were: Robin Bennett, Patty Bratton, Dave Lang, Steve Lonsinger, Paul Martin, Jon Myers, and Tony Vogel. Those voting no were: Scott Bryant, Tim Bubb, Luellen Felumlee, Mark Frank, Jim Hart, Steve Holekamp, Larry Lloyd, Jeff

Roberts, Dane Shryock, Chad Wilkins, and Dan Wing. The motion to table was defeated 11-7.

Steve Holekamp then called the question on Jim Hart's motion. A roll vote was taken. Those voting yes were: Scott Bryant, Tim Bubb, Luellen Felumlee, Mark Frank, Jim Hart, Steve Holekamp, Larry Lloyd, Jeff Roberts, Dane Shryock, Chad Wilkins, and Dan Wing. Those voting no were: Robin Bennett, Patty Bratton, Dave Lang, Steve Lonsinger, Paul Martin, Jon Myers, and Tony Vogel. The motion carried 11-7.

<u>Set Contingency Funding Mechanism</u> – Discussion ensued regarding the need to put a contingency plan in place for funding. Contracts, generation fees, and disposal fees were all discussed along with need to reduce expenses. Motion was made by Paul Martin that the contingency funding plan be the implementation of a \$2.00 generation fee, disposal fees of \$1.25-\$3.50-\$1.25, and reduce expenses beginning with optional programs (that do not help meet the goals of the plan). Tony Vogel seconded the motion. A roll vote was taken. Those voting yes were: Robin Bennett, Patty Bratton, Scott Bryant, Tim Bubb, Luellen Felumlee, Mark Frank, Tony Furgiuele, Jim Hart, Steve Holekamp, Dave Lang, Larry Lloyd, Steve Lonsinger, Paul Martin, Jeff Roberts, Dane Shryock, Jon Myers, Tony Vogel, Chad Wilkins, and Dan Wing. Those voting no were: none. The motion carried unanimously 18-0.

## NEW BUSINESS

NONE

# PUBLIC COMMENT

None

# NEXT MEETING

The next meeting will be held on Friday, May  $22^{nd}$ , at the Don Hill County Administration Building, 20 S. Second Street, in Newark, immediately following the Board of Director's meeting (which is scheduled to begin at 9:00).

Dave Lang made a motion to adjourn. Luellen Felumlee seconded the motion. The meeting adjourned at 10:35 a.m.

Secretary, Kim Masters

Approval Date