POLICY COMMITTEE MINUTES April 18, 2014 9:00 AM

Don Hill County Administration Bldg 20 S. Second St., Newark

The meeting was called to order at 9:07 a.m. by Mike Kiger, Chair.

ROLL

Attending: Patty Bratton, Chad Brown, Angela DeRolph, Dick Fankhauser, Mark Frank, Tony Furgiuele, Jeff Hall, Curtis Lee, Steve Lonsinger, Jim O'Brien, Matt Reed, Jeff Wherley and Mike Kiger.

Not attending: Robin Bennett, Scott Bryant, Tim Bubb, Joe Bulzan, Terry Dunlap, Seth Ellington, Gary Fischer, Larry Hanna, Lynn Hatfield, Jim Hart, Glenn Hill, Dave Lang, Paul Martin, Howard Orringer, Tony Vogel and Lucinda Yinger.

MEMBERSHIP APPOINTMENT

The position of District-at-Large representative is currently held by Jim Hart. The position has a two year term which is currently expired. A representative is elected/appointed to this position by the Policy Committee. Jim has expressed an interest in continuing on the committee. Patty Bratton made a motion to re-appoint Jim Hart as the District-at-Large representative. Chad Brown seconded the motion. The motion carried without opposition.

APPROVAL OF MINUTES

Motion was made by Jeff Wherley to approve the minutes from the January 24, 2014 meeting as presented. Jim O'Brien seconded the motion. The motion carried without opposition.

SUBCOMMITTEE RECOMMENDATION PRESENTATIONS

1. <u>Disposal Facilities Subcommittee</u> - Chad Brown advised the committee that the subcommittee believes that the district has sufficient disposal capacity, that there is no need for new facilities, designation was discussed but consensus of the subcommittee was that there is no need to pursue that possibility, additionally the subcommittee believes that the litter collection, law enforcement, and health department programs are valuable and should be continued.

- 2. <u>Residential Recycling Subcommittee</u> Matt Reed stated that the subcommittee reviewed and revised a list of target materials for recycling, the subcommittee would like to work with local officials on bidding out curbside recycling, the recycling programs will improve drop-off locations and place new sites in order to expand recycling.
- 3. <u>Business Recycling Subcommittee</u> Tony Furgiuele stated that businesses will continue to have use of the drop-off bins and be encouraged to expand recycling.
- 4. <u>Special Wastes Subcommittee</u> Mark Frank reported that consensus of the subcommittee was that collection events (i.e. tires, appliances) should charge participants enough money to cover the costs of the event, no money is being budgeted for these programs. Additionally the education programs will encourage the use of safer alternatives. \$2,000 will be budgeted for HHW every other year, this money will be used to purchase light boxes, battery buckets, etc. There is a recommended change to the buy recycled program, it is recommended that a 50% match be required, additionally no money is being budgeted for that program. The subcommittee would like to budget \$20,000 per year in the County Assistance line item with the unspent money rolling over each year.
- 5. <u>Education/Outreach</u> Jeff Wherley advised the committee that the subcommittee prioritized their target audiences, agreed to continue with changing electronic communications, provide information on recycling service providers and opportunities to local industries, to network with businesses, publish one article per county per year on HHW, and as a group the county programs and the district office will work to develop a "toolkit" for communities that are considering the start-up of a curbside program.

BUDGET

A budget was presented for discussion. The budget assumes that disposal will continue to decrease (a .1% decrease was projected for each year). The proposed disposal fee structure would be \$2 (in-district), \$4 (out-of-district), and \$2 (out-of-state). This is an increase in all three tiers (currently \$1.25, \$3.50 & \$1.25). Additionally a decrease was proposed in the generation fee. It is currently \$2/ton and it applies to in-district waste only. The proposed fee would be \$1.25 per ton. Making the total charge to in-district residents and businesses \$3.25 just as it is now (combination of disposal fee and generation fee).

Jeff Hall read an email that he had received from Tim Bubb (Licking County Commissioner) since Tim could not be here today. The email stated that the Licking County Commissioners would support the proposed fees which would slightly increase fees to out-of-district and out-of-state residents, but would hold fees steady for in-district residents and businesses.

Commissioners from Coshocton County, Fairfield County, and Perry County also expressed their support for the proposed fee structure and stated that they would not support a fee increase.

Discussion ensued regarding the cost of curbside recycling and whether or not Newark would/is considering it. Jeff Hall stated not at this time. Angel Arroyo-Rodriguez (OEPA) stated that curbside doesn't always increase the costs of recycling programs. Curtis Lee asked if it is still

possible to make changes to the budget. Carol stated that if there were any changes they could be sent to her and she would have them ready for the next meeting. Licking County representatives stated that there is still dialogue going on regarding the funding of the Licking County Sheriff's Office. Angel Arroyo-Rodriguez advised the committee to put a "wish list" in the plan, in the event of increased revenue; Carol stated that she was doing that.

Tony Furgiuele made a motion to accept the proposed fees and program recommendations as presented. Curtis Lee seconded the motion. A roll vote was called. Those voting yes were: Patty Bratton, Chad Brown, Angela DeRolph, Dick Fankhauser, Mark Frank, Tony Furgiuele, Jeff Hall, Curtis Lee, Steve Lonsinger, Jim O'Brien, Matt Reed, and Jeff Wherley. Motion carried unanimously 12-0.

PUBLIC COMMENT

None

NEXT MEETING

The next full committee meeting is scheduled for Friday, May 23, 2014, 10:00 a.m., at the Donald Hill County Administration Bldg., 20 S. Second St., in Newark (Room A - Basement).

The meeting adjourned at 10:02 a.m.		
Secretary, Kim Masters	-	
Approval Date	-	