POLICY COMMITTEE MINUTES March 26, 2010

10:00 AM

Licking County Administration Bldg. 20 S. Second St., Newark

The meeting was called to order at 9:57 a.m. by Jeff Wherley, Chair.

ROLL

Attending: Robin Bennett, Patty Bratton, Tim Bubb, Larry Coyle, Luellen Deeds, Jim Hart, Steve Holekamp, Dave Lang, Curtis Lee, Larry Lloyd, Steve Lonsinger, Paul Martin, Jeff Roberts, Judy Shupe, Tony Vogel, Lonnie Wood, and Jeff Wherley.

Not attending: Scott Bryant, Joe Bulzan, Bob Diebold, Joe Ebel, Dick Erman, Mark Frank, Tony Furgiuele, Frank Hirsch, Chad Wilkins, and Dan Wing.

ELECTION OF OFFICERS

Discussion ensued about chairmanship rotation. Although the bylaws do not specify a rotation of counties, the Policy Committee has historically rotated the chairmanship to provide equal opportunity to each county to lead the committee. If the same rotation schedule was to be followed, this would be Fairfield County's turn to Chair the committee. Patty Bratton made a motion nominating Tony Vogel as chairman. Jim Hart seconded the motion. Hearing no other nominations, Jim Hart made a motion that nominations be closed. Tim Bubb seconded the motion. Motion to close nominations carried without opposition. Tony Vogel was appointed Chair by acclamation.

Lonnie Wood made a motion nominating Steve Holekamp as vice-chair. Tim Bubb seconded the motion. Hearing no other nominations, Jim Hart made a motion to close nominations. Tim Bubb seconded the motion. Motion to close nominations carried without opposition. Steve Holekamp was appointed Vice-Chair by acclamation.

At this time Jeff Wherley turned the meeting over to Tony Vogel.

APPROVAL OF MINUTES

Motion was made by Paul Martin to approve the minutes from the November 20, 2009 meeting as presented. Jim Hart seconded the motion. The motion carried without opposition.

OLD BUSINESS

PLAN UPDATE

Carol advised the committee members that the plan has now been ratified by 65.27% of the district's population (thus meeting the 60% requirement). The next step is to declare the plan ratified and submit it to the OEPA for final approval. Motion was made by Jim Hart to adopt the draft resolution presented to committee members declaring the solid waste plan ratified. Lonnie Wood seconded the motion. Judy Shupe asked Carol what the largest concerns were that were expressed by the public. Carol stated that the fee increase was an issue for many. Discussion ensued regarding that this concern was a reflection of a tight economy and financial hardships. A roll vote was called. Those voting yes were: Robin Bennett, Patty Bratton, Tim Bubb, Larry Coyle, Luellen Deeds, Jim Hart, Steve Holekamp, Dave Lang, Curtis Lee, Larry Lloyd, Steve Lonsinger, Paul Martin, Jeff Roberts, Judy Shupe, Lonnie Wood, and Jeff Wherley. The motion carried unanimously 17-0.

The OEPA has 90 days from the date they receive the plan in the mail to approve or disapprove the plan. The fee increase is scheduled to begin January 1, 2011.

NEW BUSINESS

ANNUAL REVIEW OF PLAN IMPLEMENTATION

A document was distributed listing the goals of the solid waste plan and where the district stands on meeting those goals. Carol advised the committee that the commitments in the plan are being met, presently the access in Fairfield County is currently at 89% (instead of the required 90%), the access number changes throughout the year(s) with changes in population, an additional trailer will be placed in Fairfield by year's end to bring that back into compliance. Lonnie Wood made a motion to accept the review as presented. Jeff Wherley seconded the motion. The motion carried without opposition.

PUBLIC COMMENT

None

NEXT MEETING

There is not another meeting scheduled at this time.

Jim Hart made a motion to adjourn. Jeff Roberts seconded the motion. The meeting adjourned at 10:12 a.m.

Secretary, Kim Masters		
Approval Date		