POLICY COMMITTEE MINUTES February 24, 2017

9:30 AM

Don Hill County Administration Bldg 20 S. Second St., Newark

The meeting was called to order at 9:40 a.m. by Curtis Lee, Vice-Chair.

ROLL

Attending: Patty Bratton, Joe Bulzan, Steve Davis, Terry Dunlap, Seth Ellington, Dick Fankhauser, Zach Fanning, Gary Fischer, Duane Flowers, Tony Furgiuele, Jeff Hall Jim Hart, Glenn Hill, Dave Lang, Jim O'Brien, Matt Reed, Tony Vogel, Jeff Wherley, Lucinda Yinger, and Curtis Lee.

Not attending: Robin Bennett, Chad Brown, Scott Bryant, Angela DeRolph, Joe Garrett, Larry Hanna, Paul Martin and Kevin Walters.

ELECTION OF OFFICERS

The Policy Committee has historically rotated the chairmanship to provide equal opportunity to each county to lead the committee. If the same rotation schedule was to be followed, this would be Coshocton County's turn to Chair the committee. Terry Dunlap made a motion nominating Curtis Lee as chairman. Duane Flowers seconded the motion. The motion carried without opposition.

Tony Vogel made a motion nominating Terry Dunlap as vice-chair. Steve Davis seconded the motion. The motion carried without opposition.

APPROVAL OF MINUTES

Motion was made by Dave Lang to approve the minutes from the February 26, 2016 meeting as presented. Duane Flowers seconded the motion. The motion carried without opposition.

ANNUAL REVIEW OF PLAN IMPLEMENTATION

A document was distributed listing the commitments of the solid waste plan and where the district stands on meeting those commitments. Carol stated that the goals of the plan are being met including the recycling access goal. She further stated that although one county is under the 90% goal, because another county is over 100%, the District meets the 90%. The committee was asked if they had any comments they would like to convey to the Board of Directors. Consensus was that there were no comments at this time.

NEXT PLAN UPDATE

1. New Format - A document was distributed summarizing the new format as required by OEPA. Carol stated that revenue and expenditures for the plan are to be projected for the first six years, and after that they can be held constant (except for large known factors), recycling survey data is limited to the past two years, access will not be able to exceed the population of the area served, budgets will no longer be

"customized" - it will have a "fill in the blank" format, there is an emphasis on analysis, evaluation, and planning, and greenhouse gas emissions measurement is mandatory.

- 2. <u>Subcommittees and assignments</u> a document listing the subcommittees, their purpose, tasks, and issues was distributed. A sign-up sheet was passed around the room. The subcommittees and their members are as follows: **Disposal Systems**: Seth Ellington, Dick Fankhauser, Glenn Hill, Matt Reed, Tony Vogel, Jeff Wherley, Candy Robinson and Doug Gill; **Residential Recycling**: Patty Bratton, Terry Dunlap, Zach Fanning, Jim Hart, Matt Reed, Tony Vogel, Jeff Wherley, Lucinda Yinger, Lindsey Grimm, Candy Robinson, and Chad Reed; **Business Recycling**: Patty Bratton, Joe Bulzan, Steve Davis, Glenn Hill, Matt Reed, Tony Vogel, Jeff Wherley, Chad Reed, and Tom Harvey; **Outreach & Marketing**: Patty Bratton, Glenn Hill, Matt Reed, Jeff Wherley, Lindsey Grimm, Verdie Abel, and Chad Reed; **Special Wastes**: Patty Bratton, Chad Brown, Joe Bulzan, Steve Davis, Matt Reed, Tony Vogel, Jeff Wherley, and Tom Harvey; **Finances**: Patty Bratton, Chad Brown, Seth Ellington, Duane Flowers, Gary Fischer, Jeff Hall, Jim Hart, Curtis Lee, and Matt Reed. Please be advised that these subcommittees are open to individuals that do not have a seat on the Policy Committee. If you know of anyone that you believe would be a good addition to one of the subcommittees, or if you would like to join a subcommittee other than the one(s) you originally signed up for, please contact the District office.
- 3. <u>Review timeline</u> Committee members reviewed a chronology of previous plan updates and a timeline for beginning the new plan update. Jeff Wherley made a motion to accept the timeline as presented and start the new plan update. Jim Hart seconded the motion. The motion carried without opposition.

DISTRICT-AT-LARGE REPRESENTATIVE

Jim Hart stated that his term on the Policy Committee had expired. Kim Masters advised the committee that Jim serves as the District-At-Large representative, which has a two year term. She further stated that Jim has expressed interest in continuing to serve on the committee. Jeff Wherley made a motion to re-appoint Jim Hart to another two year term as the District-At-Large representative. Patty Bratton seconded the motion. The motion carried without opposition.

PUBLIC COMMENT

Terry Dunlap from Violet Township advised the committee that the township has entered into contract with Local Waste Services effective April 1, 2017 for trash hauling with an option for recycling.

NEXT MEETING

No meeting scheduled at the present time.

Motion by Terry Dunlap to adjourn.	Glenn Hill seconded the motion.	The motion carried without opposition.
The meeting adjourned at 10:07 a.m.		

Secretary, Kim Masters	
Approval Date	