POLICY COMMITTEE MINUTES February 23, 2018

10:30 AM

Don Hill County Administration Bldg 20 S. Second St., Newark

The meeting was called to order at 10:34 a.m. by Curtis Lee, Chair.

ROLL

Attending: Cary Bowers, Patty Bratton, Ben Carpenter, Terry Dunlap, Dick Fankhauser, Zach Fanning, Duane Flowers, Jennifer Valentine (for Larry Hanna), Glenn Hill, Dave Lang, Bo Powell, Matt Reed, Tammi Rogers (for Dane Shryock), Tony Vogel, and Curtis Lee.

Not attending: Robin Bennett, Chad Brown, Joe Bulzan, Steve Davis, Seth Ellington, Tony Furgiuele, Joe Garrett, Jeff Hall, Jim Hart, Paul Martin, Kevin Walters and Jeff Wherley.

ELECTION OF OFFICERS

The Policy Committee has historically rotated the chairmanship to provide equal opportunity to each county to lead the committee. If the same rotation schedule was to be followed, this would be Fairfield County's turn to Chair the committee. Terry Dunlap made a motion nominating Tony Vogel as chairman. Duane Flowers seconded the motion. The motion carried without opposition.

Ben Carpenter made a motion nominating Matt Reed as vice-chair. Terry Dunlap seconded the motion. The motion carried without opposition.

APPROVAL OF MINUTES

Motion was made by Dave Lang to approve the minutes from the February 24, 2017 meeting as presented. Curtis Lee seconded the motion. The motion carried without opposition.

ANNUAL REVIEW OF PLAN IMPLEMENTATION

A document was distributed listing the commitments of the solid waste plan and where the district stands on meeting those commitments. The committee was asked if they had any comments or recommendations they would like to convey to the Board of Directors. Consensus was that there were no comments at this time.

PLAN UPDATE

The draft plan had been emailed to committee members in December for their review. Additionally, a summary document had been distributed during the work session (earlier this morning). The committee indicated that they were satisfied with the draft plan as written. Patty Bratton made a motion to pass a resolution directing the Executive Director to submit the draft plan to the OEPA. Ben Carpenter seconded the motion. A roll call vote was taken. Those voting yes were: Cary Bowers, Patty Bratton, Ben Carpenter, Terry Dunlap, Dick Fankhauser, Zach Fanning, Duane Flowers, Jennifer Valentine, Glenn Hill, Dave Lang, Curtis Lee, Bo Powell, Matt Reed, and Tammi Rogers.

PUBLIC COMMENT

None

NEXT MEETING
The next meeting is scheduled for April 20, 2018. The meeting will be held at the Don Hill County Administration Bldg., 20 S. Second Street in Newark at 9:00 a.m., in meeting room A (in the basement).

Motion by Terry Dunlap to adjourn. Glenn Hill seconded the motion. The motion carried without opposition. The meeting adjourned at 10:45 a.m.

Secretary, Kim Masters
•
Approval Date