# POLICY COMMITTEE MINUTES January 25, 2008

8:00 AM

Licking County Administration Bldg. 20 S. Second St., Newark

The meeting was called to order at 9:02 a.m. by Dan Wing, Chair.

# INTRODUCTIONS

Several new members were present today. Dan Wing asked everyone to introduce themselves.

#### **ROLL**

Attending: Robin Bennett, Patty Bratton, Tim Bubb (not present for roll call; see note for arrival), Joe Bulzan, Thad Cooperrider (not present for roll call; see note for arrival), Larry Coyle, Luellen Felumlee, Gary Fischer (not present for roll call; see note for arrival), Mark Frank, Jim Hart (not present for roll call; see note for arrival), Steve Holekamp, Dave Lang, Larry Lloyd, Paul Martin, Jon Myers, Jeff Roberts, Tony Vogel, Jeff Wherley, and Dan Wing.

Not attending: Scott Bryant, Bob Diebold, Joe Ebel, Richard Erman, Tony Furgiuele, Frank Hirsch, Steve Lonsinger, and Chad Wilkins.

### **APPROVAL OF MINUTES**

Motion was made by Paul Martin to approve the minutes from the October 25, 2007 meeting as presented. Jeff Wherley seconded the motion. The motion carried without opposition.

### **OLD BUSINESS**

**NONE** 

#### **NEW BUSINESS**

# **ELECTION OF OFFICERS**

Discussion ensued about chairmanship rotation. Although the bylaws do not specify a rotation of counties, the Policy Committee has historically rotated the chairmanship to provide equal opportunity to each county to lead the committee. If the same rotation schedule was to be followed, this would be Licking County's turn to Chair the committee. Dan Wing nominated

Larry Lloyd as chairman. Patty Bratton made a motion to accept the nomination. Paul Martin seconded the motion. Hearing no other nominations, Jeff Wherley made a motion that nominations be closed. Steve Holekamp seconded the motion. Motion carried without opposition. Larry Lloyd was appointed Chair by acclamation.

At this time Larry Lloyd took over the meeting. Paul Martin made a motion nominating Jeff Wherley as vice-chair. Dan Wing seconded the motion. Hearing no other nominations, Steve Holekamp made a motion to close nominations. Dave Lang seconded the motion. Motion carried without opposition. Jeff Wherley was appointed Vice-Chair by acclamation.

### ANNUAL REVIEW OF PLAN IMPLEMENTATION

A document was distributed listing the goals of the solid waste plan and where the district stands on meeting those goals. Carol advised the committee that all commitments in the plan are being met – including the 90% recycling access in all counties, with the exception the Industrial Work Groups. Dan Wing suggested that could be addressed in the industrial recycling subcommittee meeting and a better strategy developed..

(**Note:** Tim Bubb arrived 8:10) (**Note:** Gary Fischer arrived 8:14)

Jeff Wherley stated that it appeared there were no recommendations to make to the Board of Directors at this time. Consensus of the committee was that they agreed with Jeff and had no recommendations to offer at this time.

# SCHEDULE PLAN UPDATE SUBCOMMITTEE MEETTINGS

A document was distributed listing committee members and those subcommittees which each had volunteered for.

(**Note:** Thad Cooperrider arrived 8:15)

(Note: Jim Hart arrived 8:15; left; returned at 8:18)

Dave Lang volunteered for the Residential/Commercial Recycling subcommittee. Jeff Roberts volunteered for the Industrial Recycling subcommittee and the Special Waste subcommittee. Mark Frank volunteered for the Education subcommittee. Tony Vogel volunteered for the Special Waste subcommittee and for the Residential/Commercial Recycling subcommittee (Secretary's note: Tony volunteered for the Residential/Commercial Recycling subcommittee after the meeting adjourned). Jon Myers volunteered for the Finance subcommittee.

The subcommittee members discussed meeting dates and came up with the following schedule: Friday, February  $22^{nd}$ , at the Solid Waste District Office – Disposal Facilities subcommittee, Special Wastes subcommittee, and Finance subcommittee. Thursday, March 6, at the Community Action Recycling Center – Residential/Commercial Recycling subcommittee,

Education subcommittee, and the Industrial Recycling subcommittee. Times for these meetings will be emailed to subcommittee members once a schedule is created.

# TECHNICAL ADVISORY COUNCIL APPOINTEES

Carol advised the committee that the chair of the Policy Committee is responsible for appointing members to the Technical Advisory Council (TAC). At the present time there are five vacancies on the TAC. One in Licking County, two in Coshocton County, and two in Fairfield County. Chet Vance, a TAC member from Coshocton County, has submitted two names for possible appointment (Teresa Bradford and Doug Ritzert). One of the vacancies in Fairfield County was formerly held by Don Rector from the Director of Utilities. Tony Vogel replaced Don as the director and said that he would volunteer to serve on the TAC. Tim Bubb stated that Don Rector is now in Licking County and he would contact him to see if he would be willing to serve as Licking County's representative. Larry Lloyd, Policy committee chair, appointed Teresa Bradford, Doug Ritzert, and Tony Vogel to the TAC.

(Secretary's note: Tim Bubb emailed Carol Philipps and said that Don Rector was willing to serve. Larry Lloyd appointed Don to the committee via email. Presently there is one vacancy on the TAC and it is in Fairfield County)

### **PUBLIC COMMENT**

None

### **NEXT MEETING**

No meeting is scheduled at the present time. Carol Philipps will advise Larry Lloyd when the District Office receives any request/information that requires the attention of this committee.

Thad Cooperrider made a motion to adjourn. Jeff Wherley seconded the motion. The meeting adjourned at 8:41 a.m.

Secretary, Kim Masters	
Approval Date	