POLICY COMMITTEE MINUTES January 23, 2015 10:00 AM Don Hill County Administration Bldg 20 S. Second St., Newark

The meeting was called to order at 10:01 a.m. by Jim O'Brien, Vice-Chair.

ROLL

Attending: Robin Bennett, Rick Black (designated for today's meeting by Tim Bubb), Patty Bratton, Scott Bryant, Joe Bulzan, Angela DeRolph, Dick Fankhauser, Gary Fischer (designated for today's meeting by Dane Shryock), Mark Frank, Tony Furgiuele, Jim Hart, Mike Kiger (designated for today's meeting by Steve Davis), Dave Lang, Curtis Lee, Steve Lonsinger, Paul Martin, Jim O'Brien, Matt Reed, and Jeff Wherley.

Not attending: Chad Brown, Terry Dunlap, Seth Ellington, Jeff Hall, Larry Hanna, Glenn Hill, Tony Vogel and Lucinda Yinger.

ELECTION OF OFFICERS

Discussion ensued about chairmanship rotation. Although the bylaws do not specify a rotation of counties, the Policy Committee has historically rotated the chairmanship to provide equal opportunity to each county to lead the committee. If the same rotation schedule was to be followed, this would be Perry County's turn to Chair the committee. Curtis Lee made a motion nominating Jim O'Brien as chairman. Jim Hart seconded the motion. The motion carried without opposition.

Curtis Lee made a motion nominating Rick Black as vice-chair. Gary Fischer seconded the motion. The motion carried without opposition.

APPROVAL OF MINUTES

Motion was made by Paul Martin to approve the minutes from the September 26, 2014 meeting as presented. Tony Furgiuele seconded the motion. The motion carried without opposition.

2015 PLAN UPDATE

A draft resolution declaring the amended solid waste plan ratified in accordance with section 3734.55 of the ORC was presented to the committee. In addition supporting documentation was submitted showing that all four of the Boards of County Commissioners and the four largest

municipalities in each county approved the plan along with municipalities and townships representing 71% of the District population. Tony Furgiuele made a motion to adopt the resolution as presented. Jim Hart seconded the motion. A roll vote was called. Those voting yes were: Robin Bennett, Rick Black, Patty Bratton, Scott Bryant, Joe Bulzan, Angela DeRolph, Dick Fankhauser, Gary Fischer, Mark Frank, Tony Furgiuele, Jim Hart, Mike Kiger, Dave Lang, Curtis Lee, Steve Lonsinger, Paul Martin, Matt Reed, and Jeff Wherley. Those voting no were: None. The motion carried unanimously.

ANNUAL REVIEW OF PLAN IMPLEMENTATION

A document was distributed listing the commitments of the solid waste plan and where the district stands on meeting those commitments. Joe Bulzan stated that the OEPA is looking at recycling surveys for commercial and industrial recycling. Carol stated that she was aware they were looking at becoming more involved and they may develop a survey template.

The consensus of the committee was that there is no recommendation for the Board of Directors as it appears the commitments of the solid waste plan are being met.

PUBLIC COMMENT

None

NEXT MEETING

No meeting scheduled at the present time.

Motion by Jim Hart to adjourn. Rick Black seconded the motion. The meeting adjourned at 10:12 a.m.

Secretary, Kim Masters

Approval Date